Everyone should eat some Chocolate

27 Mar

I had planned to make quesadillas for dinner tonight, but I only had 3 tortillas, which would make 1.5 quesasdillas for dinner. Not sure if that was enough for a man and a very hungry girl. So I thought I can either make really fat quesadillas with loads of filling or have a nice sized dessert. How about both?!

Black bean, spinach and mushroom quesadillas

  • 4 whole wheat tortillas (number depending how many you want to make)
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1 cup of mixture of mozz and cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup of mushrooms
  • 1 cup of spinach leaves

Sautee spinach and mushrooms with olive oil until the spinach is wilted

On greased skillet add whole wheat tortillas (my skillet has enough room for two). Then add grated cheese to both tortillas and beans and cooked veggies to one tortilla.

Cook for 3 minutes, then add the tortilla with only cheese to the tortilla with the veggies. Cook for an additional 2 minutes on each side. Remove the quesadillas from the skillet and slice into 4 quarters.

Apparently I added too much filling because cheese was falling out. O well, who really complains about too much cheese?

On the side I made a quick salad with our CSA red leaf lettuce topped with balsamic marinated strawberries courtesy of Chef Mateo aka Matt.

Now for dessert….

I have actually made these cookies at least 3 times since I started this blog, why I did not post them… not sure, but they are definitely post-worthy. They actually came out much more delicious than the last couple of times. I am certain it has to do with the vanilla extract I used. Before, I had a cheap bottle of imitation vanilla extract from Safeway. This time I used real vanilla extract from Whole Foods. Heads up, it ain’t cheap but it is worth it! Of course all the extracts went on sale the week after I purchased mine… grrr..Any bakers have experience using imitation vs real vanilla extract?

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • ½ stick of butter salted
  • ¾ cup of rolled oats ground
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • ½ t baking soda
  • ½ t salt
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • Dark chocolate chips (1 – 1.5 cups depending how chocolately you like them)

Pre Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour, baking powder, salt and oats in a bowl. With an electric mixer beat the butter, egg, oil, extract and sugars. Gradually add in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. Bake for 10 minutes. Ta da!!!! Even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Check out one of the best articles I read in a while Chocolate Lovers are thinner

Enjoy some chocolate tonight!

2 Responses to “Everyone should eat some Chocolate”

  1. michelle March 27, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Chef Mateo is right on the money…I love strawberries on my salad :) those choc chip cookies look so yummy!! thanks for the recipe!!

  2. Debbie T March 28, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    I liked the article on chocolate, but if it included chocolate Sundas, I’d be much happier.

Leave a Reply

