Pumpkin season ain’t over

13 Jan

Yesterday was my first day trying out Cross Fit and today I can’t move my arms (don’t ask how I’m typing right now). A brand new Cross fit studio opened 2 blocks from me called Second Wind Training.

We started out with basic warm ups and then got right into a dead man press (I think that’s what it was called). After several of those we did the ‘Cindy’. This included 5 pull-ups, 10 push ups and 15 squats for 10 minutes straight. YIKES! Surprisingly I was able to do 4 unassisted pull-ups. I was pretty proud of myself. I know I used to be able to do a lot of pull-ups, but was not sure if I was still had it in me.  I think the reason that I am able to still do pull-ups is that I have always been a big fan of weights and upper body strength. Many women avoid weight lifting for fear of getting too ‘buff’. Women physically do not have enough testosterone to to get that big  Here are a few of the many benefits of weight lifting.

    • Increases lean muscle mass
      • For every pound of lean muscle mass you have,  35 – 50 calories are burned per day.
    • Helps to restore bone density.
      •  Women are extremely prone to osteoporosis, and who really wants to drink 3 cups of milk a day.
    • Increases metabolic rate.
      • This is the rate at which you burn calories. The higher your metabolic rate, the more calories you will burn. This helps to burn calories throughout the day
    • Injury prevention
      • The stronger your bones, lingaments and tendens are, the  stronger and less prone to injury you will be.

It is never too late to start weight training. Start small by picking up some 3 – 5lb weights and do some basic exercises. Check out this link from Womens Health Mag.

For dinner tonight I made my favorite Pumpkin Risotto, Creamy Sesame Greens and Baked Halibut.

Pumpkin Risotto

      • 1/2 onion chopped
      • 2 garlic cloves chopped
      • 2 T olive oil
      • 1/2 qt broth heated
      • 1.5 cups white wine
      • 2 cups arborio rice
      • 1 can pumpkin
      • cinnamon
      • pumpkin spice
      • 1/4 cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese

Heat olive oil in a pan. Add chopped garlic and onion until transulcent in color.

Add rice and cook for 1 minute. Add 1 cup of broth and stir until it is mostly absorbed by the rice. Repeat until all the broth is gone.

Then add wine and bring to a simmer and stir just so that the rice does not stick to a pan. Once rice is pretty soft add pumpkin and until mixed. Then add spices to taste. and parmesan cheese.

The Creamy Sesame greens are a take off of a recipe I saw in a magazie some time ago. They are SUPER easy and SUPER delicious. What more can you ask for.

Sesame Greens

      • 3 cups of a leafy green (I like to use Kale)
      • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
      • 1 – 2 T of Tahini (depends how creamy you like it)
      • salt
      • pepper
      • dried basil
      • garlic powder

Heat 1/4 cup of water in a large pot. Add greens until slightly wilted. Add lemon juice, tahini, salt, pepper, garlic powder and dried basil. That’s it!

I was not a big fan on the way the Halibut came out (too dry), so I am not going to include that recipe.

Final Meal

Of course I saved some pumpkin for the dogs. Yes they are eating out of the spoon.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin season ain’t over”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For the love of beans « Dogs, Chocolate and Fruits & Veggies - January 31, 2012

    [...] Roasted Peas & Carrots and a side of left over Pumpkin Risotto. Not the best dinner, but pretty good with just a bunch of leftovers. Share [...]

  2. Pump some Iron « Dogs, Chocolate and Fruits & Veggies - March 7, 2012

    [...] of strength training and endurance. As I mentioned before I am a huge fan of strength training, the benefits are [...]

Leave a Reply

